This Domain Name Has Expired - Renewal Instructions.

≡ Menu

Is Wine Gluten Free? Yes and No

Since you heard about gluten or Celiac disease, you have probably gone out of your way to ensure that your wine, alcohol or any other favorite beverages are gluten-free. Well, let’s first get to understand the terms ‘gluten’ and ‘Celiac disease’.

Unraveling ‘gluten’ and ‘Celiac disease’

Gluten is a protein usually found in barley, rye, and wheat- ingredients in your favorite beverage? Celiac disease is a reaction that results from taking gluten. There will be a reaction in your small intestine which ultimately produces an inflammation. 

wine gluten

The small intestine lining gets damaged, thus some nutrients are not absorbed. Worse still, the nervous system, liver, brain, bones and other major body organs will lack nutrients. It is no wonder then that we want to steer clear of gluten. But, is wine gluten free?

Is wine gluten free?

is wine gluten free

Well, yes and no. That’s a contradiction, but read on. Wine is gluten free, in that, it’s made from grapes. However, it can also contain gluten depending on how it is made. So as to fine wine, gluten could be used.

However, other proteins could be used too. Another process that involves gluten is the sealing of oak barrels. The barrel will be sealed using a paste that contains gluten. These two processes involve addition of very little amounts of gluten, and are more common in Europe than in the U.S. You can only react to this amount if you are overly sensitive.

Flavoring or coloring is an indicator of gluten. An example is dessert wines that are fruit-flavored. It is advisable to contact the manufacturer and confirm.

Conclusion

Just ask whether the wine was aged using oak barrels, whether they were sealed using a paste that contained gluten, or whether the wine was fined using the protein. After making these considerations, you can choose whether to take wine with gluten or not, depending on how sensitive you are to this protein.

If you are sensitive to gluten, get wine that has aged in stainless steel casks, rather than oak barrels. If you can, contact people with vineyards- they will tell you what agents they use to fine their wine. Better still, just identify a specific type that you don’t react to and go with it.

A good option: non-Chardonnay white wines, that cost less than $12.00. Price should be an indicator, since most oak barrel-based wines are expensive. Others are: Riesling, Pinot Grigio, and Blanc.

You now know, so go for what works for you!

{ 0 comments }

Does Yeast Have Gluten? : Some Does Not!

For people who need to avoid gluten, the question of Is yeast gluten free is important. There is a variation of answers to this question and there is need to research the answers to this question.

People with gluten allergies have often found themselves in a tough position when choosing what to eat. Traditionally, it was assumed that all yeast contained gluten and therefore many times people had to avoid any yeast products such as breads, scones and even some types of cake. However, recent research has shown that yeast (or at least some types of yeast); do not contain gluten per se.

Common yeast, or the yeast manufactured for common uses does not in fact contain gluten. Products made from this yeast are edible for the people with gluten allergies. If you enjoy cooking in your home, there are little chances that the yeast you are using in your home contains gluten.

gluten free yeast

Therefore, all people in your home can enjoy the bread recipes and hot scones without being especially concerned that such products could cause allergic reactions. Common recipes for bread and other yeast products in fact indicate that the home yeast, which can be bought in local stores, does not contain gluten and therefore neither does the product of such yeast.

Beer, brewer’s yeast. Is it gluten free

On the other hand brewer’s yeast, which is yeast used commonly for speeding the fermentation process of beer does indeed contain a generous amount of yeast. Manufacturers therefore are required to indicate that such yeast contains gluten. This specific type of yeast is manufactured from barley, whose main element and basic ingredient is gluten.

There are those who assume that once this yeast has been taken through the process of fermentation, the gluten is broken down and lost. This is however not true, the yeast contained in brewer’s yeast come through the process of fermentation broken down but still containing high amounts of gluten. Drinking this beer can therefore cause an allergic reaction for the individuals.

Making gluten-free bread with yeast

If you are on a gluten free diet, purchase of yeast in itself and other products needs to be done carefully. Although, as stated above common yeast contains no gluten, you can read through the ingredients just to be sure.

Manufacturers are required to indicate presence or lack of gluten in their yeast products. This is especially important when you are purchasing the end product such as bread and/ or beer. Each of these products makes use of yeast, and you need to be aware if the manufacturer has indeed used gluten free yeast.

yeast glutenCeliac disease sufferers are actually expected to keep away from all from of gluten, whatever state it might be in. presence of gluten even in small amounts in their food and/or diet could easily cause them to become worse or in severe cases lead to loss of life.

Exposing them to brewer’s yeast could lead to sever symptoms that are hard to manage. They can only process and digest the common yeast which is gluten free. About the question of does yeast have gluten it is also important to be aware that whereas the common yeast may not include gluten, there maybe ingredients in the finished product whether manufactured or home made that include gluten; and are therefore harmful to people with allergies.

{ 0 comments }